Padlet vs Canva
A side-by-side look at Padlet and Canva for Education: what each one does, what it costs, and which student privacy terms each vendor states. Both entries were checked against vendor pages.
Key differences
- Our directory lists Padlet as "Collaboration boards" and Canva as "Design & Magic Studio".
- Both list a free option on their pricing pages.
- Only Canva's privacy page mentions COPPA.
- Only Canva's privacy page mentions FERPA.
- Only Padlet's privacy page mentions a statement that data is not used to train AI.
Side by side
| Padlet | Canva for Education | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Collaboration boards | Design & Magic Studio |
| Audience | Teachers + students | Teachers + students |
| Grades | Unknown | K-12 |
| Pricing (vendor page) | Freemium: free plan; Platinum $15/mo | Free for K-12 educators, students and districts |
| Privacy page mentions COPPA | Not stated | Yes |
| Privacy page mentions FERPA | Not stated | Yes |
| Privacy page mentions a data privacy agreement or SDPC | Not stated | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions the Student Privacy Pledge | Not stated | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions a statement that data is not used to train AI | Yes | Not stated |
| Details checked on | Oct 16, 2026 | Oct 16, 2026 |
"Not stated" means we did not find the term on the privacy page we checked, not that the tool fails it. Read the full entries for Padlet and Canva for Education, and check your state's AI guidance before you roll out either one.
How to pay for it: grants
Paid plans can sometimes be covered by a classroom grant when the funder allows technology. See open grants that can cover classroom tech or small grants under $1,000 on GrantCountdown.
Get the School AI Watch email
One short email a week: new AI tools we add to the directory and state AI policy changes, with links to every source. Free, and you can unsubscribe any time.
Common questions
Is Padlet free?
Padlet pricing on the vendor page: Freemium: free plan; Platinum $15/mo.
Is Canva free?
Canva for Education pricing on the vendor page: Free for K-12 educators, students and districts.
Which is better for student privacy, Padlet or Canva?
We don't rate privacy. On the pages we checked, Padlet's privacy page mentions a statement that data is not used to train AI; Canva's privacy page mentions COPPA and FERPA. Ask either vendor for a signed data privacy agreement before students use it.
What is the main difference between Padlet and Canva?
Our directory lists Padlet as "Collaboration boards" and Canva as "Design & Magic Studio". Both list a free option on their pricing pages.