MagicSchool vs SchoolAI
A side-by-side look at MagicSchool and SchoolAI: what each one does, what it costs, and which student privacy terms each vendor states. Both entries were checked against vendor pages.
Key differences
- Our directory lists MagicSchool as "All-in-one teacher assistant" and SchoolAI as "Student AI spaces".
- Only MagicSchool lists a free option on its pricing page.
- Only MagicSchool's privacy page mentions COPPA.
- Only MagicSchool's privacy page mentions FERPA.
- Only MagicSchool's privacy page mentions a data privacy agreement or SDPC.
Side by side
| MagicSchool | SchoolAI | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | All-in-one teacher assistant | Student AI spaces |
| Audience | Teachers + students | Teachers + students |
| Grades | K-12 | Unknown |
| Pricing (vendor page) | Freemium: free plan; Plus $8.33/user/mo billed yearly | Free trial; district pricing |
| Privacy page mentions COPPA | Yes | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions FERPA | Yes | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions a data privacy agreement or SDPC | Yes | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions the Student Privacy Pledge | Not stated | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions a statement that data is not used to train AI | Not stated | Not stated |
| Details checked on | Oct 16, 2026 | Oct 16, 2026 |
"Not stated" means we did not find the term on the privacy page we checked, not that the tool fails it. Read the full entries for MagicSchool and SchoolAI, and check your state's AI guidance before you roll out either one.
How to pay for it: grants
Paid plans can sometimes be covered by a classroom grant when the funder allows technology. See open grants that can cover classroom tech or small grants under $1,000 on GrantCountdown.
Get the School AI Watch email
One short email a week: new AI tools we add to the directory and state AI policy changes, with links to every source. Free, and you can unsubscribe any time.
Common questions
Is MagicSchool free?
MagicSchool pricing on the vendor page: Freemium: free plan; Plus $8.33/user/mo billed yearly.
Is SchoolAI free?
SchoolAI pricing on the vendor page: Free trial; district pricing.
Which is better for student privacy, MagicSchool or SchoolAI?
We don't rate privacy. On the pages we checked, MagicSchool's privacy page mentions COPPA, FERPA and a data privacy agreement or SDPC; SchoolAI's privacy page mentions none of the terms we track. Ask either vendor for a signed data privacy agreement before students use it.
What is the main difference between MagicSchool and SchoolAI?
Our directory lists MagicSchool as "All-in-one teacher assistant" and SchoolAI as "Student AI spaces". Only MagicSchool lists a free option on its pricing page.