← All comparisons

Diffit vs MagicSchool

A side-by-side look at Diffit and MagicSchool: what each one does, what it costs, and which student privacy terms each vendor states. Both entries were checked against vendor pages.

Key differences

Side by side

DiffitMagicSchool
CategoryDifferentiated readingAll-in-one teacher assistant
AudienceTeachersTeachers + students
GradesUnknownK-12
Pricing (vendor page)Freemium: free Basic plan; school pricingFreemium: free plan; Plus $8.33/user/mo billed yearly
Privacy page mentions COPPAYesYes
Privacy page mentions FERPAYesYes
Privacy page mentions a data privacy agreement or SDPCYesYes
Privacy page mentions the Student Privacy PledgeNot statedNot stated
Privacy page mentions a statement that data is not used to train AINot statedNot stated
Details checked onOct 16, 2026Oct 16, 2026

"Not stated" means we did not find the term on the privacy page we checked, not that the tool fails it. Read the full entries for Diffit and MagicSchool, and check your state's AI guidance before you roll out either one.

How to pay for it: grants

Paid plans can sometimes be covered by a classroom grant when the funder allows technology. See open grants that can cover classroom tech or small grants under $1,000 on GrantCountdown.

Get the School AI Watch email

One short email a week: new AI tools we add to the directory and state AI policy changes, with links to every source. Free, and you can unsubscribe any time.

Common questions

Is Diffit free?

Diffit pricing on the vendor page: Freemium: free Basic plan; school pricing.

Is MagicSchool free?

MagicSchool pricing on the vendor page: Freemium: free plan; Plus $8.33/user/mo billed yearly.

Which is better for student privacy, Diffit or MagicSchool?

We don't rate privacy. On the pages we checked, Diffit's privacy page mentions COPPA, FERPA and a data privacy agreement or SDPC; MagicSchool's privacy page mentions COPPA, FERPA and a data privacy agreement or SDPC. Ask either vendor for a signed data privacy agreement before students use it.

What is the main difference between Diffit and MagicSchool?

Our directory lists Diffit as "Differentiated reading" and MagicSchool as "All-in-one teacher assistant". Diffit is for teachers; MagicSchool is for teachers + students.