Khanmigo vs ChatGPT for Teachers
A side-by-side look at Khanmigo (Khan Academy) and ChatGPT for Teachers: what each one does, what it costs, and which student privacy terms each vendor states. Both entries were checked against vendor pages.
Key differences
- Our directory lists Khanmigo as "AI tutor" and ChatGPT for Teachers as "General assistant for teachers".
- Khanmigo is for teachers + students; ChatGPT for Teachers is for teachers.
- Both list a free option on their pricing pages.
- Only Khanmigo's privacy page mentions COPPA.
- Only Khanmigo's privacy page mentions FERPA.
Side by side
| Khanmigo (Khan Academy) | ChatGPT for Teachers | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI tutor | General assistant for teachers |
| Audience | Teachers + students | Teachers |
| Grades | Unknown | K-12 educators |
| Pricing (vendor page) | Free sign-up for teachers; district plans | Free for verified U.S. K-12 educators through June 2028 |
| Privacy page mentions COPPA | Yes | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions FERPA | Yes | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions a data privacy agreement or SDPC | Not stated | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions the Student Privacy Pledge | Not stated | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions a statement that data is not used to train AI | Not stated | Not stated |
| Details checked on | Oct 16, 2026 | Oct 16, 2026 |
"Not stated" means we did not find the term on the privacy page we checked, not that the tool fails it. Read the full entries for Khanmigo (Khan Academy) and ChatGPT for Teachers, and check your state's AI guidance before you roll out either one.
How to pay for it: grants
Paid plans can sometimes be covered by a classroom grant when the funder allows technology. See open grants that can cover classroom tech or small grants under $1,000 on GrantCountdown.
Get the School AI Watch email
One short email a week: new AI tools we add to the directory and state AI policy changes, with links to every source. Free, and you can unsubscribe any time.
Common questions
Is Khanmigo free?
Khanmigo (Khan Academy) pricing on the vendor page: Free sign-up for teachers; district plans.
Is ChatGPT for Teachers free?
ChatGPT for Teachers pricing on the vendor page: Free for verified U.S. K-12 educators through June 2028.
Which is better for student privacy, Khanmigo or ChatGPT for Teachers?
We don't rate privacy. On the pages we checked, Khanmigo's privacy page mentions COPPA and FERPA; ChatGPT for Teachers's privacy page mentions none of the terms we track. Ask either vendor for a signed data privacy agreement before students use it.
What is the main difference between Khanmigo and ChatGPT for Teachers?
Our directory lists Khanmigo as "AI tutor" and ChatGPT for Teachers as "General assistant for teachers". Khanmigo is for teachers + students; ChatGPT for Teachers is for teachers.