← All comparisons

Nearpod vs Padlet

A side-by-side look at Nearpod and Padlet: what each one does, what it costs, and which student privacy terms each vendor states. Both entries were checked against vendor pages.

Key differences

Side by side

NearpodPadlet
CategoryInteractive lessonsCollaboration boards
AudienceTeachers + studentsTeachers + students
GradesK-12Unknown
Pricing (vendor page)Free Silver; Gold $159/yr; Platinum $397/yr; school/district licensesFreemium: free plan; Platinum $15/mo
Privacy page mentions COPPANot statedNot stated
Privacy page mentions FERPANot statedNot stated
Privacy page mentions a data privacy agreement or SDPCNot statedNot stated
Privacy page mentions the Student Privacy PledgeNot statedNot stated
Privacy page mentions a statement that data is not used to train AINot statedYes
Details checked onOct 16, 2026Oct 16, 2026

"Not stated" means we did not find the term on the privacy page we checked, not that the tool fails it. Read the full entries for Nearpod and Padlet, and check your state's AI guidance before you roll out either one.

How to pay for it: grants

Paid plans can sometimes be covered by a classroom grant when the funder allows technology. See open grants that can cover classroom tech or small grants under $1,000 on GrantCountdown.

Get the School AI Watch email

One short email a week: new AI tools we add to the directory and state AI policy changes, with links to every source. Free, and you can unsubscribe any time.

Common questions

Is Nearpod free?

Nearpod pricing on the vendor page: Free Silver; Gold $159/yr; Platinum $397/yr; school/district licenses.

Is Padlet free?

Padlet pricing on the vendor page: Freemium: free plan; Platinum $15/mo.

Which is better for student privacy, Nearpod or Padlet?

We don't rate privacy. On the pages we checked, Nearpod's privacy page mentions none of the terms we track; Padlet's privacy page mentions a statement that data is not used to train AI. Ask either vendor for a signed data privacy agreement before students use it.

What is the main difference between Nearpod and Padlet?

Our directory lists Nearpod as "Interactive lessons" and Padlet as "Collaboration boards". Both list a free option on their pricing pages.