Microsoft Copilot vs ChatGPT for Teachers
A side-by-side look at Microsoft 365 Copilot Chat (Education) and ChatGPT for Teachers: what each one does, what it costs, and which student privacy terms each vendor states. Both entries were checked against vendor pages.
Key differences
- Our directory lists Microsoft Copilot as "General assistant (Microsoft 365)" and ChatGPT for Teachers as "General assistant for teachers".
- Microsoft Copilot is for teachers + students (13+); ChatGPT for Teachers is for teachers.
- Only ChatGPT for Teachers lists a free option on its pricing page.
Side by side
| Microsoft 365 Copilot Chat (Education) | ChatGPT for Teachers | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | General assistant (Microsoft 365) | General assistant for teachers |
| Audience | Teachers + students (13+) | Teachers |
| Grades | Students 13+ & staff | K-12 educators |
| Pricing (vendor page) | Included in all Microsoft 365 Education plans | Free for verified U.S. K-12 educators through June 2028 |
| Privacy page mentions COPPA | Not stated | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions FERPA | Not stated | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions a data privacy agreement or SDPC | Not stated | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions the Student Privacy Pledge | Not stated | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions a statement that data is not used to train AI | Not stated | Not stated |
| Details checked on | Oct 16, 2026 | Oct 16, 2026 |
"Not stated" means we did not find the term on the privacy page we checked, not that the tool fails it. Read the full entries for Microsoft 365 Copilot Chat (Education) and ChatGPT for Teachers, and check your state's AI guidance before you roll out either one.
How to pay for it: grants
Paid plans can sometimes be covered by a classroom grant when the funder allows technology. See open grants that can cover classroom tech or small grants under $1,000 on GrantCountdown.
Get the School AI Watch email
One short email a week: new AI tools we add to the directory and state AI policy changes, with links to every source. Free, and you can unsubscribe any time.
Common questions
Is Microsoft Copilot free?
Microsoft 365 Copilot Chat (Education) pricing on the vendor page: Included in all Microsoft 365 Education plans.
Is ChatGPT for Teachers free?
ChatGPT for Teachers pricing on the vendor page: Free for verified U.S. K-12 educators through June 2028.
Which is better for student privacy, Microsoft Copilot or ChatGPT for Teachers?
We don't rate privacy. On the pages we checked, Microsoft Copilot's privacy page mentions none of the terms we track; ChatGPT for Teachers's privacy page mentions none of the terms we track. Ask either vendor for a signed data privacy agreement before students use it.
What is the main difference between Microsoft Copilot and ChatGPT for Teachers?
Our directory lists Microsoft Copilot as "General assistant (Microsoft 365)" and ChatGPT for Teachers as "General assistant for teachers". Microsoft Copilot is for teachers + students (13+); ChatGPT for Teachers is for teachers.