Canva vs Adobe Express
A side-by-side look at Canva for Education and Adobe Express for Education: what each one does, what it costs, and which student privacy terms each vendor states. Both entries were checked against vendor pages.
Key differences
- Our directory lists Canva as "Design & Magic Studio" and Adobe Express as "Design & generative AI".
- Only Canva lists a free option on its pricing page.
- Only Canva's privacy page mentions FERPA.
- Both privacy pages mention COPPA.
Side by side
| Canva for Education | Adobe Express for Education | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Design & Magic Studio | Design & generative AI |
| Audience | Teachers + students | Teachers + students |
| Grades | K-12 | K-12 & higher ed |
| Pricing (vendor page) | Free for K-12 educators, students and districts | Unknown |
| Privacy page mentions COPPA | Yes | Yes |
| Privacy page mentions FERPA | Yes | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions a data privacy agreement or SDPC | Not stated | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions the Student Privacy Pledge | Not stated | Not stated |
| Privacy page mentions a statement that data is not used to train AI | Not stated | Not stated |
| Details checked on | Oct 16, 2026 | Oct 16, 2026 |
"Not stated" means we did not find the term on the privacy page we checked, not that the tool fails it. Read the full entries for Canva for Education and Adobe Express for Education, and check your state's AI guidance before you roll out either one.
How to pay for it: grants
Paid plans can sometimes be covered by a classroom grant when the funder allows technology. See open grants that can cover classroom tech or small grants under $1,000 on GrantCountdown.
Get the School AI Watch email
One short email a week: new AI tools we add to the directory and state AI policy changes, with links to every source. Free, and you can unsubscribe any time.
Common questions
Is Canva free?
Canva for Education pricing on the vendor page: Free for K-12 educators, students and districts.
Is Adobe Express free?
Adobe Express for Education pricing on the vendor page: Unknown.
Which is better for student privacy, Canva or Adobe Express?
We don't rate privacy. On the pages we checked, Canva's privacy page mentions COPPA and FERPA; Adobe Express's privacy page mentions COPPA. Ask either vendor for a signed data privacy agreement before students use it.
What is the main difference between Canva and Adobe Express?
Our directory lists Canva as "Design & Magic Studio" and Adobe Express as "Design & generative AI". Only Canva lists a free option on its pricing page.